Home Tutorials Download Beta Store Forum Documentation KnowledgeBase Wiki Blog

ShiVa3D

Return to Game programming

Noob 2D Movement Question?

All about the StoneScript

Noob 2D Movement Question?

Postby Guinner » 24 Mar 2012, 09:26

Hello!
So i'm new to Shiva and i've been working on a 2D game. Up until this point i've managed to do most things by myself or by following tutorials.
Now this may seem like a silly question but:
How do I make my character move using WASD. I understand the Handler > OnKeyboardKeyDown and i've got the following code
Code: Select all
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
function char_AI.onKeyboardKeyDown ( kKeyCode )
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

if      ( kKeyCode == input.kKeyD ) then

end

So what is it I put after 'then' to allow the character to move let's say 10 pixels to the right (According to a camera placed on the Z axis. So it would travel along the X axis)
Or is there another way?
Guinner
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder

Re: Noob 2D Movement Question?

Postby gamescorpion » 24 Mar 2012, 10:01

Guinner wrote:Hello!
So i'm new to Shiva and i've been working on a 2D game. Up until this point i've managed to do most things by myself or by following tutorials.
Now this may seem like a silly question but:
How do I make my character move using WASD. I understand the Handler > OnKeyboardKeyDown and i've got the following code

end

So what is it I put after 'then' to allow the character to move let's say 10 pixels to the right (According to a camera placed on the Z axis. So it would travel along the X axis)
Or is there another way?

Hello Guinner,

Ok, first in your scene you need to tag your player object. Lets assume you put a tag called "player" on your player object in the scene and save it, the following in the keydown code should do the trick:

-- Get player object