Home Tutorials Download Beta Store Forum Documentation KnowledgeBase Wiki Blog

ShiVa3D

Return to Getting Started

Distant Terrain Chunks Are Gray  [SOLVED]

You feel lost? You don't understand how to use ShiVa?

Distant Terrain Chunks Are Gray

Postby Selzier » 07 Aug 2012, 18:09

Ok another terrain question, I've searched high and low and can't find out how to fix this.

All distant terrain chunks show up grey (same color as the Ambient value).

When I move the camera and zoom in, the terrain looks fine. When you zoom out, it turns gray. This happens in the editor and in the exported & compiled game.

How can I make distant terrain show their material?

Image
Selzier
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 494
Location: Boise

Re: Distant Terrain Chunks Are Gray  [SOLVED]

Postby Selzier » 07 Aug 2012, 18:46

Thanks to broozar's ShiVa Minute - s2e09 terrain finalizing ( http://youtu.be/TRfcLHXivhg )

From the Terrain Editor, I needed to click Edit > Rebuild Missing Low Resolution Textures

Image
Selzier
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 494
Location: Boise

Re: Distant Terrain Chunks Are Gray

Postby broozar » 07 Aug 2012, 19:30

yay! :D

i also see the displacing of the terrain worked, i remember that level from the other post... what's that game gonna be about?
User avatar
broozar
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 3450
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Distant Terrain Chunks Are Gray

Postby Selzier » 07 Aug 2012, 21:31

I am making a First Person Adventure (FPA??) where you start in the dungeon of a castle and have to escape from the castle by finding items and solving puzzles. Completely escaping the castle is the goal, but there are also hidden treasures in the castle to find.

I working towards creating a full blown First Person Shooter, and this project will help establish a lot of the framework needed for that!

Image
Selzier
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 494
Location: Boise

Re: Distant Terrain Chunks Are Gray

Postby broozar » 08 Aug 2012, 06:42

nice dungeon!
User avatar
broozar
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 3450
Location: Berlin - Germany


Return to Getting Started

cron