Home Tutorials Download Beta Store Forum Documentation KnowledgeBase Wiki Blog

ShiVa3D

Return to Bugs

Signed app doesn't work on Playbook  [FIXED]

Report bugs and issues

Signed app doesn't work on Playbook

Postby neilb » 15 Mar 2012, 07:10

I've just encountered a problem with my second app when submitting it to AppWorld.

The signed version doesn't work.

It starts and just hangs, immediately after displaying the welcome HUD, which is the first thing it does.

Building the exact same package for debug works perfectly.

My first app worked OK, the difference between to two is that this one needs internet access permission and it tries to create an XML data file immediately after startup. I don't know if that's got anything to do with it though as it hangs before any screen output appears.
neilb
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 463
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Signed app doesn't work on Playbook

Postby neilb » 15 Mar 2012, 10:10

I spent the past few ho
Code: Select all
urs rewriting part of the app to log all the errors I can catch to the screen but I've been unable to learn anything useful.

The initialisation state starts and onEnter is called and exits cleanly as expected.

The very first line of the state's onLoop adds a message to a text box, but that message never appears. The app seems to have already failed by then.

Is there a log to look at for signed applications? I can't find anything.

Edit:

When I run the debug version of the app, the only lines that appear in the log between where the onEnter ends and onLoop should begin are:

Code: Select all
[03/15 20:22:50] ... Created special vertex program 70001 : 0x0000000000000007
[03/15 20:22:50] ... Created special fragment program 140002 : 0x000000000000003c
[03/15 20:22:50] ... Created special fragment program 210003 : 0x0000000000000054
[03/15 20:22:50] ... Created special linked program 280004 : 0x000000000000003c - 0x0000000000000007 (8 uniforms)
neilb
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 463
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Signed app doesn't work on Playbook

Postby neilb » 15 Mar 2012, 11:57

The problem appears to be the folder that getPackPath returns.

My app needs a large data file that has to be updatable, so when it starts the first time, it generates the data file from an XML file that shipped as part of the app.

On Android, it writes it to the path given by getPackPath, but it seems as if this is read only on Playbook.

It needs to be updatable, but not overwritten when the app is next updated.

Where should I be storing data files for my app?
neilb
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 463
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Signed app doesn't work on Playbook  [FIXED]

Postby NiCoX » 15 Mar 2012, 12:56

Hi,

Indeed in the Android version of the engine, we have to extract the STK from the APK, in a writable location. That's why application.getPackPath returns a writable directory.

On other platforms, the STK file is read directly from the install location, which is most of the time a read-only one. So you have to use the "system.getHomeDirectory" if you need to write data.
User avatar
NiCoX
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 5644
Location: France


Return to Bugs