Home Tutorials Download Beta Store Forum Documentation KnowledgeBase Wiki Blog

ShiVa3D

Return to Networking

socket connection  [SOLVED]

How to get the best of multi player experience

socket connection

Postby mainEvent » 11 Aug 2011, 08:28

hi,
can i use a c or c++ code in shiva to create a socket connection on a pc? (between 2 pcs)
mainEvent
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 42

Re: socket connection

Postby Scribe » 11 Aug 2011, 12:49

mainEvent wrote:hi,
can i use a c or c++ code in shiva to create a socket connection on a pc? (between 2 pcs)


Yes, but as this would be using something other than ShiVa's built-in networking system, you would have to include the socket source files etc yourself.

To see an example of ShiVa's system, take a look at the multiplayer sample provided with the editor.
ShiVa 3D 1.9.1 | UAT 1.3.1
VS 2010 | Xcode 4.1 | iOS 5.0.1
PC: OS Windows 7 x64 | CPU Phenom II X6 | Memory 16GB | GFX Geforce 480GTX
MacMini: OS OSX 10.7 | CPU i7 3.4ghz | Memory 4GB | GFX ATI 6630M
Scribe
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 286
Location: UK

Re: socket connection

Postby mainEvent » 11 Aug 2011, 15:06

can u give me a link plz?
mainEvent
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 42

Re: socket connection  [SOLVED]

Postby Scribe » 11 Aug 2011, 18:16

mainEvent wrote:can u give me a link plz?


For me the sample is within:

C:Program Files (x86)StonetripShiVa Editor AdvancedDataSamples

It may of course vary for yourself depending on your OS, where you installed shiva and your version of the editor but to clarify, the example comes pre-bundled with the product.
ShiVa 3D 1.9.1 | UAT 1.3.1
VS 2010 | Xcode 4.1 | iOS 5.0.1
PC: OS Windows 7 x64 | CPU Phenom II X6 | Memory 16GB | GFX Geforce 480GTX
MacMini: OS OSX 10.7 | CPU i7 3.4ghz | Memory 4GB | GFX ATI 6630M
Scribe
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 286
Location: UK


Return to Networking