Home Tutorials Download Beta Store Forum Documentation KnowledgeBase Wiki Blog

ShiVa3D

Return to Google Android

Dynamic shadows on Android?

Google Play Store, Amazon Kindle, Nook, and so many more

Dynamic shadows on Android?

Postby Diffa » 09 Mar 2012, 14:23

How do you enable dynamic shadows on Android?
I've a simple test scene running on HP Pre 3 (webos) and dynamic shadows work great, but on Android no shadows (tested with 3 different Android devices). So how do you enable dynamic shadows on Android?

Thanks.
Diffa
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 214

Re: Dynamic shadows on Android?

Postby NiCoX » 09 Mar 2012, 15:25

Hi,

Basically, you must use ES 2.0, but I guess you already know that. What are the devices you did test on?
User avatar
NiCoX
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 5628
Location: France

Re: Dynamic shadows on Android?

Postby Diffa » 09 Mar 2012, 15:31

Hi,
I used opengl es 2.0 and
tested with these device: samsung galaxy mini, samsung nexus S and sony xpreria play
Diffa
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 214

Re: Dynamic shadows on Android?

Postby RawenGroup » 09 Mar 2012, 15:50

Maybe help this funtion to descript GPU capabilites.

http://www.stonetrip.com/developer/doc/api/system-getGPUCapability
RawenGroup
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 93
Location: Hungary

Re: Dynamic shadows on Android?

Postby Diffa » 09 Mar 2012, 22:45

Hi,
If I run the same test on HP TouchPad (webos) shadows are visible, but when I run the test on Hp TouchPad (Android cyanogenmod 7.1 ) the shadows are not visible. Why?
Diffa
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 214


Re: Dynamic shadows on Android?

Postby Diffa » 10 Mar 2012, 10:38

I found what caused the shadows dissapear :) If you use bloom and dynamics shadows on Android, the shadows will dissapear. Bloom + dynamics shadows works on webos, but not on Android. Bug?
Diffa
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 214

Re: Dynamic shadows on Android?

Postby NiCoX » 10 Mar 2012, 14:04

Oh ok, I think this has been solved, but not currently released. Once UAT 1.4.beta1 will be out, please report it on the beta web site if the problem is still present.
User avatar
NiCoX
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 5628
Location: France


Return to Google Android