Home Tutorials Download Beta Store Forum Documentation KnowledgeBase Wiki Blog

ShiVa3D

Return to External tools

StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Tools for ShiVa...

StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby Jafet » 29 Oct 2008, 13:28

Hello All,
I'd like to know if Stonetrip have plans to publish the StonTool plugin to another 3D engines, like Lightwave (Newtek) and/or Modo (Luxology).
Shiva users, pls, if you are a Lightwave and/or Modo user, and you are looking for more integration between those softwares and Shiva, pls, leave here your message.
The Stonetrip team are doing a very good work, but they need to meet the users needs.
BR,
Pedro Jafet
Jafet
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 237
Location: São Paulo - BRAZIL

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby broozar » 29 Oct 2008, 17:51

hi lightwave buddy :)

lightwave 9.5 does have an integrated *.dae exporter which works quite well for static objects (build 1445).

i filed a request to newtec for improving the exporter, here
https://secure.newtek.com/FogBugz/defau ... 17703_tfom

so it seems that with the very next version, you can expect a nice lw->dae->shiva pipeline.
CM ShiVa Technologies SAS
User avatar
broozar
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 3517
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby Jafet » 29 Oct 2008, 18:24

Yes, I have this version, but was very instable. So, I did the downgrade to 9.3.1 .
I'm a LW user since 2.0, on Amiga...
I did this translation through Modo, importing the LWO and exporting collada format.
Worked very fine for still too.
But should be great if Stonetrip publish more StonTools plugins, because it should bring light, anims, etc...
Jafet
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 237
Location: São Paulo - BRAZIL

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby broozar » 29 Oct 2008, 18:41

uh, you found 9.5 to be unstable? i thought it was more stable than 9.3.1... anyway. i guess it won't be long until the bugfixed 9.5 comes out.

i'm supporting your request though, i'd like a just-for-shiva tool the best myself, but i'd wait for the development of it until the next version of lightwave, maybe it is all we need. if not, go ahead :)
CM ShiVa Technologies SAS
User avatar
broozar
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 3517
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby Jafet » 29 Oct 2008, 18:53

Yes, they are with a beta program with the 9.51... My last uptrade was the 8.5, and I don't have more free upgrades.
This 9.5 is the last one.
All that I want, is a small pipeline process from a modeling, texturing, till shiva tool...
Jafet
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 237
Location: São Paulo - BRAZIL

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby Dje » 30 Oct 2008, 09:46

Hi,

StonTools for other software is not yet planned as long as we can't learn all 3D software programming language in the world... also the StonTools code for 3dsMax is not crypted so if some of them want to port this tool for other software :cheer:... be sure that we will support them.
User avatar
Dje
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
 
Posts: 601

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby Jafet » 30 Oct 2008, 11:24

Thanks Djé, that's 50% at least...
Now, we need many users asking for it...
XSI, C4D, Houdidni, Maya, Blender, Ligtwave, Modo, Daz, Poser, ... - Yes, there are many, and much more not listed.
Come on Shiva users, let's meet common brothers that use same 3D tools, to share tips while we don't have "our" Stontool, and, at the same time, build a powerfull list asking for our own version...
Jafet
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 237
Location: São Paulo - BRAZIL

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby JaredB » 02 Apr 2009, 20:02

There is a Collada exporter for Modo written by Richard Rodriguez & Zoltan Erdokovy that can be found at VertexMonkey.com > General > File I/O
JaredB
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 19
Location: In the mountains

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby Jafet » 02 Apr 2009, 20:43

Tks JaredB,
I'm allready using this Collada plugin with Modo.
Check the forum about:

http://forums.luxology.com/discussion/topic.aspx?id=25474&page=2

I'd like the same to Lightwave. The 9.6 has an exporter, but it makes wrong the UVmap...
Tks again.
Jafet
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
 
Posts: 237
Location: São Paulo - BRAZIL

Re:StonTool for Lightwave and Modo engines...

Postby Lamont » 24 Jul 2009, 03:26

Jafet wrote:Tks JaredB,
I'm allready using this Collada plugin with Modo.
Check the forum about:

http://forums.luxology.com/discussion/topic.aspx?id=25474&page=2

I'd like the same to Lightwave. The 9.6 has an exporter, but it makes wrong the UVmap...
Tks again.
I'll take a stab at the LW exporter and see if there's a reliable method to get data out.
Lamont
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 3


Return to External tools